Heading up to Iwate

Yuki performing at an evacuation center in Aizumisato, Fukushima

Thanks to your generous support and encouragement, during our 3 day trip we were able to visit and perform our show at 7 evacuation centers, and drop off supplies at 3 other centers.

We traveled a total of 1,003 km, and were able to deliver all the donated items. Some items we delivered direct to evacuation centers in Fukushima, most of the clothes, lotion and assorted items were delivered to 3 locations in Yamamotocho, Miyagi. We passed on the blankets to a volunteer team we worked with, who were heading to Sendai, as the center there needed them.

Children enjoying our comedy magic and balloon show

Most of the people we performed for were evacuated from around the Daichi nuclear power plant in Fukushima. Several mothers thanked us for making the children laugh and smile, she said that they haven’t known if it’s ok to laugh and smile, but she’s happy to see them happy after our show. We are so thankful for this chance to meet with and to perform for those affected by the earthquake and tsunami, and we hope that we’ll be able to make another trip to encourage many others.

Yuki and Sam will be heading up to Iwate prefecture tonight as we have at least 3 more shows at evacuation centers on Monday. It’s a short trip, but we’re hoping to encourage as many as we can.

岩手に向かう

皆さんの寛大なサポートと励ましのおかげで、三日間で7つの避難所でショーをし、さらに3つの避難所に物資を届けることができました。

合計1003キロメートル旅し、寄付された物資を全て届けることができました。あるものは福島県の避難所に直接届けましたが、ほとんどの衣類、ローションなどは宮城県山元町に届けました。共に働いていたボランティアのグループが仙台の毛布を必要としている避難所に向かうということだったので、毛布はそちらに届けていただきました。

ショーを見てくださったほとんどの方々は福島県第一原子力発電所の周辺から避難してきた人たちでした。何人もの母親が子供たちを笑わせてくれてありがとう、と言ってきてくださいました。こんな時にほほ笑んだり笑ったりしてもいいのか分からなかったけど、ショーを見て笑う子供たちの姿が見れてとても嬉しいと言っていました。地震と津波の被災者の方々と会ってショーをする機会に本当に感謝しています。もう一度こちらの地域を訪問して多くの方々を励ましたいと願っています。

月曜日には少なくとも3つの避難所でショーをするので、今夜から岩手県に向かいます。短い旅ですが、できるだけ多くの方々を励ませたらと願っています。

Leave a comment

Filed under Charity

Leave a comment