Performing and delivering toys and art supplies to 140 kids in Fukushima

20110427-081346.jpgOn April 26th we first put on our show for 90 children ages 3 to 4 at a kindergarten in Aizuwakamatsu. We started out with a comedy skit then went through our magic routine which had the kids laughing from start to finish. This was definitely the largest number of kids we did our show for in the Tohoku area, and very possibly the most energetic as well.

We needed all the help we could get from Gene, Florence and Aaron to finish making balloons before we rushed off to the second kindergarten to perform for another 50 kids (all 5 year olds). At both kindergartens we were able to pass out presents to each child and also art supplies, children’s story books, play dough and other toys which were donated by an international school in Tokyo.

These children and their families were all evacuated from the 20 kilometer radius around the troubled nuclear power plant. They have been able to move from evacuation shelters to hotels and ryokan which is great news. These kindergartens were going to close due to the slowly decreasing number of children in the area, but they are now packed with all the cute kids you see in these photos.

We went into the day ready to give to these children, but I think we were the ones who received more through their smiles, laughter and appreciation. At first some of the children looked sad, some were crying not wanting to be away from their parents but when it came for us to say our “good-byes” they were a lively smiling bunch.

We want to thank all those who helped to make this project possible through donations, gathering supplies to deliver and through your encouragement.

20110427-081304.jpg

20110427-081326.jpg

20110427-081252.jpg

福島で140人の子供たちのためにショーをし、おもちゃや文房具を届けました

4月26日に会津若松の幼稚園の3歳から4歳の子供たち90人の前でショーをしました。まず初めにコメディスキット、それからマジックショーをしたところ、子供たちは最初から最後までずっと笑っていました。これほど大勢の子供たちのためにショーをしたのは東北地方で初めてでした。ひょっとしたら一番エネルギッシュな子供たちでもあったかも。

みんなのためにバルーンを作るのをジーン、フローレンスとアーロンが助けてくれました。それから5歳の子供たちが50人いる次の幼稚園へと急ぎました。両方の幼稚園で子供たちみんなにプレゼントと文房具、子供の絵本、粘土、そして東京のインターナショナルスクールから寄付されたおもちゃを配ることができました。

この子供たちとそのご家族はみんな原発の20キロ半径から避難してきていました。今は、避難所からホテルや旅館に移ることができたそうです。これらの幼稚園は地域の子供たちの減少によって廃園する予定だったそうですが、今は写真でご覧になれるように、かわいい子供たちでいっぱいです。

一日を始めた時は子供たちに与える側にいましたが、後では、子供たちの笑顔や笑い、感謝の声によって、私達のほうが与えられる側になったと思います。初めは、悲しそうな顔をしたり、親から離れたくないといって泣いていた子供たちもいましたが、お別れを言うころにはみんな明るくニコニコしていました。


寄付を下さったり、物資を集めたり、励ましを送ってくださった方々に心から感謝しています。

Leave a comment

Filed under Charity

Leave a comment